Like King David

Ahijah was a prophet of the LORD God of Israel; his name means “brother of Yah” or “brother of Yahweh”. He was blind, yet, through God’s power, he could see the future (1 Kings 14:4).

He rebuked king Jeroboam because Jeroboam was wicked. In his rebuke, he compared Jeroboam with another king – the great King David.

What Ahijah communicated about King David is very important to note. He sated, “…and yet you have not been as my servant David, who kept my commandments, and who followed me with all his heart, to do that which was right in my eyes” – 1 Kings 14:8.

In the words of Ahijah’s rebuke, there is a strong encouragement for us to be like King David!

In regard to King David, Ahijah declared:

  1. He was a servant of God – “my servant David”
  2. He kept God’s commandments – “who kept my commandments”
  3. He followed God with all his heart – “who followed me with all his heart”
  4. He only did what was right in the eyes of the LORD – “to do that which was only right in my eyes”

What would God say about us? Are we servants of Jesus Christ? Would Jesus say this about us?

Do we keep Christ’s commandments? He said, “He that has my commandments and keeps them – he it is that loves me, and he that loves me shall be loved of my father and I will love him and manifest myself to him” – John 14:21.

Do we follow Christ with all our hearts? We are called to “cleave to the Lord” with “purpose of heart” – Acts 11:23.

Do we only do the things which are right in the Lord Jesus Christ’s eyes? It is recorded in the book of Judges, “In those days, there was no king in Israel; every man did that which was right in his own eyes” – Judges 21:25. Proverbs proclaims, “There is a way which seems right to a man, but the end thereof are the ways of death” – 14:12.

My prayer is that these four things that characterized the life of King David will characterize my own.

May Christ’s testimony concerning us be as King David’s.

God bless you.

